Feeling a bit frustrated…

…and I’m searching for comfort in the form of a latte.

I feel like things are getting a bit out of control (especially with my committee), and that certain people in one of my top two favorite organizations don’t really want me to stay. Well, shoot. You can’t make that decision for me and you won’t be able to get rid of me without my consent… even if you try to blow me off, or make decisions regarding my committee without me there, or even by giving me attitude.

And hey you, if you haven’t already realized, all relationships require an equal amount of giving and taking. In other words, I stretched myself thin for you, to help you out with your committee’s project, and I expect that you give me some effort with my committee in return, since you’re supposed to be a member and all. I don’t think it’s fair to the whole committee to try to schedule meetings around your personal schedule when you’ve made it to a grand total of three meetings since last semester — so don’t give me attitude about it because you haven’t earned an ounce of respect from me yet. I’m not taking any of your crap.

And you, I know that you’re not a fan of my decision to rush, and that you’re afraid that the same thing that happened to R. will happen to me. You haven’t said it, but I know you’re thinking it because I know you that well. But you know, it kind of hurts to blatantly ask for my resignation. It was completely out of line and unprofessional. All I asked for was time to hear back from CC about whether I’m in or not. I wanted that respect from you. I’m sure that of all people, you would understand that you don’t just march right up the the organization you want to be a part of and ask if you received a bid. Does it work that way for your fraternity? No? That’s what I thought.

All I’m asking for is a little respect from everyone. Rush is stressful. But that doesn’t mean that I can’t handle it. That doesn’t mean you can make decisions for me. That doesn’t give you a right to be rude. Thanks.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Sonia Rego said,

    *hug*
    Things will get better, Jessica. I’m not sure who all these people are, but I would so beat them up for you. Or sic Romper on them. Rawr. Cheer up! You got a lot going for you.

    The espresso here is…scary. I had like, an inch of espresso and was jittery and had a racing heart the whole day. It’s like they try to compress the caffeine in 30 oz of coffee into one ounce. I’m getting used to it, but I thought of you, Miss-Coffee, and how much you’d love it.

    -Sonia


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

